KNOW-HOW –
SECURITY AWARENESS

Cyber security involves much more than just technical elements. Many people are unaware that cyber security starts with the factor "human". You can find out here the role played by security awareness in this and what it is all about.

SECURITY AWARENESS QUIZ

Security awareness is on everyone's lips and thankfully in an increasing number of companies. How knowledgeable are you in the area of security awareness? Irrespective of whether you have never heard of it or think you already know everything, you can test yourself in our security awareness quiz and refresh your knowledge right now!

Here you can find also more information about security awareness and the terms in the quiz. Have fun!

1

One important aspect of security awareness is social awareness. What skills do I need to develop social awareness?

Emotional intelligence

There are no wrong answers

Social intelligence

Social sensitivity

Are you wondering what all these (actually positive) skills have to do with security awareness and cyber attacks? Social awareness is good in principle and is also important when dealing with people because it fosters relationships and cooperation. However, awareness, i.e. the ability to (re)act appropriately in certain situations, can also be misused for the purpose of manipulation, and this then brings us to cyber crime. These manipulations by cyber criminals can be summarised under the term social engineering. Therefore, an important part of effective security awareness is the capacity for social awareness, including emotional and social intelligence, to detect attacks like these.

2

What does the term social engineering mean?

Taking advantage of people’s willingness to help, their uncertainty or good faith, for example, to obtain confidential information.

A motivational technique to raise awareness of security among employees.

Spying on private information on the company computer using software.

Social engineering exploits people’s "weak points" to obtain information or data. These vulnerabilities include helpfulness, uncertainty or good faith. For example: someone claiming to be from the IT department comes round to install new software and inserts a USB stick – and that quick the computer is infected. After all, who knows all of the employees in a large company personally?

3

Which of the following passwords is the best one?

MdLbd11M!

Fg67

,.:-_#+~<>!§$%&(){}=?@

Hans1960

In our view, the best one would be MdLbd11M! (My daughter Lisa’s birthday is 11th March!) – it’s simple but still complex, do you agree? With this modular principle, you just choose a set of letters and numbers that you can remember easily. It should consist of at least twelve characters, including numbers and punctuation marks, as well as words beginning with upper and lower case letters. Why do we advise against the other passwords? Well, Fg67 consists of only four consecutive entries on the keyboard. ,.:-_#+~<>!§$%&(){}=?@ is made up of special characters, and most of us (without a password manager) wouldn't be able to remember it, but admittedly, it would be definite! And Hans1960 is pretty self-explanatory…

4

You decide to go to a café and check your e-mails between two customer appointments. Here you can log in to a free Wi-Fi connection. You want to access Google Mail (mail.google.com), but you are redirected to the googlemail.account.net page. What do you do?

Nothing – forwarding is harmless as long as the page looks trustworthy.

Continue browsing in private mode.

Next time you are in the office, as a precaution, ask the Help Desk / IT Support to check your computer.

Log out of the Wi-Fi straight away.

Forwarding could indicate spoofing - a method of eavesdropping and manipulating network traffic. This means that your e-mail traffic may be forwarded and your input into the supposed login mask may be read. You should disconnect the Wi-Fi connection immediately! It is also advisable to notify the Help Desk / IT Support and ask them to have a look at your laptop.

By the way, an important principle is: do not log into a public, free Wi-Fi – especially not on your business laptop, tablet or smartphone.

5

The first step in ensuring adequate security awareness is the ability to a potential security risk...

to master.

to recognise.

to avoid.

At work, we are exposed to security risks daily – whether when we are opening e-mails (especially with attachments), making phone calls, browsing websites, etc. It is impossible to avoid risks altogether, let alone master them. On the other hand, it is vital to be aware of the risks – security awareness is the keyword. Be vigilant and identify risks before they escalate into a real attack.

6

Who is responsible for information security within the company?

The IT department.

The Security Officer (CISO).

The CEO.

All employees.

One thing to be kept in mind – EVERY employee is responsible for information security because cyber criminals are well aware that many employees are easy targets. It's no wonder, especially if they were never made aware of the dangers and trained accordingly. This makes it even more important that everyone knows about IT security and how to handle information securely (the keyword is "security awareness"). Cyber security should also be at the top of the management agenda!

7

You receive an e-mail from an unknown sender, informing you that all of the information can be found in the attached Word document. What should you do?

Send the e-mail to the Help Desk / IT Support.

Save the attachment before opening it.

Transfer the e-mail to your private e-mail account and open it at home.

Never open an e-mail attachment unless you are 100% sure that it's harmless. Do you know the sender? Are you expecting an attachment? Do the e-mail and the name of the file have anything to do with your business, company or project? If you are not sure, do not open the attachment, just transfer it to the internal Help Desk / IT Support.

8

What is spear phishing?

A massive spam mail attack targeting all employees.

A phishing attack launched by an employee.

A highly targeted, well-planned cyber attack.

A phishing attack via a smartphone app.

In the same way that a spear is used to catch a single fish, in this attack the attacker targets a specific person or object. Spear phishing – this is why attacks are so insidious because they are often carefully planned long in advance. This makes it all harder to expose them.

icon-pillar-page-thumb2

X OF X CORRECT - UNSATISFACTORY

Would it be right to say that you have heard little or nothing about security awareness – certainly not in your company? This makes it all the more important that you deal with the topic now, and that includes your staff!

Below you will find lots of information, blog articles and downloads to help you, or even better, you can contact us directly. We have a variety of security awareness measures to provide you and your employees with the knowledge you need. This is because as you now know, ALL employees are responsible for information security.

icon-pillar-page-thumb3

X OF X CORRECT - SATISFACTORY

Security awareness is by no means a new term for you. Likely, the topic has already been discussed in your company – but a small knowledge update certainly wouldn't do any harm. We will give you a booster!

Below you can find a lot of information, blog articles and downloads about security awareness, or you can contact us direct. We provide you and your employees with the necessary knowledge, or we can refresh what you have learned with various security awareness actions. This is because, as you now know, ALL employees are responsible for information security.

 

icon-pillar-page-thumb1

X OF X CORRECT - GREAT

Congratulations! It's not child's play for cyber criminals with you. You've probably already had security awareness training – or you've read all our blog articles.

But cyber criminals are always coming up with new tricks, so don’t rest on your laurels and keep honing your security awareness. What's the easiest way to do it? Subscribe to our blog updates! This way you will always get the latest articles, white papers, infographics, etc. about cyber security, cyber defence and, of course, security awareness.

Blog Update Subscription

WHAT IS SECURITY AWARENESS?

The purpose of security awareness measures is to increase employee awareness of (information) security. The aim is to reduce risks arising from careless behaviour or a lack of awareness and to increase cyber security. But why is security awareness so important for companies?

Did you know that currently, over 99 (!) per cent of all cyber attacks are attributable to human interaction? Apart from technology, people pose the greatest security risk, and this is why the term "human weakness" is often used. Unfortunately, a good cyber security strategy and the latest technologies are no longer adequate to provide effective protection. For example, these days, phishing e-mails look deceptively real and it is almost impossible to distinguish them from "real" e-mails. One wrong click and the hackers are already inside the corporate network – frequently with catastrophic consequences. Dangers like these are lurking everywhere in our everyday lives, even physically, which is why security awareness is an important element in the cyber security strategy.

POSSIBLE TYPES OF ATTACK

Hackers are constantly developing new ways of attacking companies. Below we have listed some of the most popular ones associated with social engineering and security awareness:

Social Engineering

Social engineering abuses people's good faith, willingness to help and uncertainty to gain access to sensitive information or data. One possible way in is for an attacker to pretend to be IT support staff member, and so access the computer of an actual employee. The result could be not only the theft of information but also the introduction of malware such as trojans into the company network. You can find more information about social engineering in our blog article.

Have you already downloaded our Social Engineering Checklist? Get 15 tips to help you protect yourself from social engineering. Download now!

Social Engineering Checklist

Phishing

Phishing is one of the favourites and unfortunately, also one of the most successful means of attack. E-mails from proper senders are forged or imitated so that neither the spam filters nor people identify them as "fakes". There are different targets: clicking on a link that installs malware on the computer, an action such as requesting payment, sharing confidential information via e-mail, etc. There are now a large number of types of phishing like spear phishing, smishing (SMS), vishing (voice phishing), whaling, pharming, social media phishing and many more.

Incidentally, our cyber security experts have put together the most important tricks for detecting phishing e-mails in a poster for you. Get it now for free!

Phishing poster

SECURITY AWARENESS IN 3 STEPS

Information security involves much more than just the technical aspects – it starts with people because a lack of sensitivity and knowledge often acts as the gateway for cyber criminals. But how can awareness be raised in the long term? A tried and tested means of raising employee awareness is a targeted security awareness campaign. We will tell you how you can boost your security awareness in just 3 steps!

STEP 1 – SEE

The first thing to do is to grab the employees attention and demonstrate where the risks are in everyday life. They should recognise how important their personal contribution is. Proven measures that "open the eyes" of employees are:

  • Live hacking demonstrations (more information below)
  • Videos
  • Blog articles, intranet, newsletters
  • Management communications with giveaway (e.g. SyncStop USB sticks)

STEP 2 – UNDERSTAND

In step two, the aim is to impart knowledge in order to develop the required level of understanding of information security. Employees need to recognise security risks and be aware of how to react. This is both the most important and the most difficult step in security awareness. Potential actions are:

STEP 3 – ACTION

The final step is to achieve a sustainable, permanent change in attitude and behaviour. This is why these actions need to ensure that the issue is firmly anchored in employees' minds and is constantly remembered. Some of the suitable measures are:

TARGETED AWARENESS FOR YOUR EMPLOYEES

Effective information security lives or dies depending on whether it is actively supported by employees – management included! In a security awareness campaign, basic knowledge can be communicated and employee awareness can also be boosted. Are you interested? We can help you set up a targeted security awareness campaign!

Security Awareness Campaign

SECURITY AWARENESS MEASURES

InfoGuard designs individual awareness campaigns based on specific customer needs. A "red thread" and campaign branding coordinated with the corporate branding ensure both a high recognition value and a high level of internal acceptance.

Phishing is a central theme running throughout the entire campaign. It starts with checking existing security awareness using a Cyber Attack Simulation or Social Engineering Audit (Security Testing) and continues with training and/or live hacking on-site and is complemented by awareness communication, right through to re-checking and success monitoring.

InfoGuard will implement all these measures and also provides full on-site support during the implementation.

Awareness Communication

Communication is the be-all and end-all – and this also applies to security awareness. The messages are conveyed in a comprehensible way via sustainable awareness communications, so they stay memorised for longer and therefore have a greater presence in the company.

We will support your security awareness communication with posters, brochures, management communications, text templates for the intranet, articles in your in-house magazine, wikis, newsletters, etc.

 

Workshops & Training

Our cyber security experts will present a workshop tailored to your needs to illustrate the cyber dangers lurking in everyday life. They will give you some important tips and information on how to identify critical situations and act appropriately. Your employees will become involved while having fun!

E-Learning & Interactive Virtual Reality Training

E-Learning and VR training are ideal methods for sensitising employees to information security according to time and location. The big advantage is that interactive, fun learning is not just enjoyable, it also creates a particularly long-lasting learning experience that can be validated using quizzes.

In cooperation with our partner E-SEC, we develop innovative bespoke 3D training software. The possibilities are almost limitless, with topics such as social media, data protection & compliance, information security outside the company, banking secrets, fire protection, etc.

More information about our e-learning and virtual reality training can be found on our E-SEC partner website.

Live Hacking Demonstration

Creating astonishment is the first step towards awareness – and consequently also towards sustained security awareness. That's why the most impressive method to make cyber security understandable is probably a live hacking demonstration by our security awareness experts and penetration testers. Your staff will be shown what catastrophic consequences even small mistakes can have especially from the point of view of a hacker.

The potential range of topics is very broad and can be individually tailored to meet your needs. For a live hacking demonstration, there are a variety of potential scenarios: trojans, man-in-the-middle attacks, infected documents, phishing & pharming, QR code, GPS location, smartphone apps & trojans, cross-site scripting and more. Normally, live hacking demonstrations can be easily carried out on-site in your company.

WHITEPAPERS, CHECKLISTS & POSTERS

SECURITY AWARENESS WITH INFOGUARD

Why should you work with InfoGuard? Our expertise and experience, the 360° security approach and the opinions of our customers all confirm that we are the right partner for security awareness.

Expertise & Experience

We have several cyber security specialists who specialise in security awareness. Their many years of experience mean that our clients benefit not only from an extensive skill base, but they also know exactly how cyber criminals act.

It can be in the area of consulting (awareness communication, workshops, e-learning, live hacking, etc.), Cyber Attack Simulations, Social Engineering Audits, etc. – with us you will find exactly the right experts to help you most effectively.

 

A One-Stop Shop

InfoGuard covers all 360° of cyber security and cyber defence. What this means for you is that our experts know what they are talking about and are able to integrate all aspects of cyber security. We also offer a variety of additional services which, in combination with a security awareness campaign, will ensure that your cyber security is effective.

So you see, security awareness is really important! What are you waiting for? Get your employees trained and protect your business from ransomware, phishing attacks, social engineering, and other threats. Contact us – we will work with you to create a personalised, effective security awareness campaign.

Contact

KNOW-HOW –
SECURITY AWARENESS

Cyber Security besteht aus weit mehr als nur technischen Komponenten. Was sich viele nicht bewusst sind – Cyber Security beginnt beim Menschen. Welche Rolle Security Awareness dabei spielt und worum es sich dabei konkret handelt, erfahren Sie hier.

SECURITY AWARENESS-QUIZ

Security Awareness ist in aller Munde und (zum Glück) auch in immer mehr Unternehmen ein Thema. Wie steht es um Ihr Wissen im Bereich Security Awareness? Egal, ob Sie noch nie etwas davon gehört haben oder denken, bereits alles zu wissen: Testen Sie sich in unserem Security Awareness-Quiz und frischen Sie gleich Ihr Know-how auf!

Mehr Informationen rund um Security Awareness und die Begriffe im Quiz, finden Sie auf dieser Seite.

1

Eine wichtige Komponente von Security Awareness ist Social Awareness. Welche Fähigkeit braucht es, um Social Awareness entwickeln zu können?

Emotionale Intelligenz

Alle Antworten sind korrekt.

Soziale Intelligenz

Soziale Sensitivität

Sie fragen sich, was all diese (eigentlich positiven) Fähigkeiten mit Security Awareness und Cyberattacken zu tun haben? Social Awareness ist grundsätzlich gut und auch wichtig im Umgang mit Menschen, denn dies fördert die Beziehung und die Zusammenarbeit. Das «Bewusstsein» – also die Awareness –, in bestimmten Situationen angemessen (re)agieren zu können, kann jedoch auch zu Manipulationszwecken missbraucht werden, womit wir wiederum bei der Cyberkriminalität wären. Solche Manipulationen durch Cyberkriminelle werden unter dem Begriff Social Engineering zusammengefasst. Eine wichtige Komponente für effektive Security Awareness ist daher die Fähigkeit der Social Awareness, inkl. emotionaler und sozialer Intelligenz sowie sozialer Sensitivität, um solche Angriffe erkennen zu können.

2

Was versteht man unter dem Begriff Social Engineering?

Das Ausnutzen der Hilfsbereitschaft, Unsicherheit oder Gutgläubigkeit von Personen, um z.B. an vertrauliche Informationen zu kommen.

Eine Motivationstechnik, um Mitarbeitende bezüglich Security Awareness zu sensibilisieren.

Das Ausspionieren von privaten Informationen auf dem Firmen-Computer durch eine Software.

Beim Social Engineering werden die «Schwachstellen» von Personen ausgenutzt, um an Informationen oder Daten zu gelangen. Solche Schwachstellen sind bspw. Hilfsbereitschaft, Unsicherheit oder Gutgläubigkeit. Beispiel: Ein vermeintlicher Mitarbeiter der IT-Abteilung kommt vorbei, um eine neue Software zu installieren und steckt dazu einen USB-Stick ein – zack, schon ist der Computer infiziert. Und wer kennt in grossen Unternehmen schon alle Mitarbeitenden persönlich…

3

Welches der folgenden Passwörter ist am empfehlenswertesten?

MjTLha11.MG!

Fg67

,.:-_#+~<>!§$%&(){}=?@

Hans1960

Aus unserer Sicht am idealsten wäre MjTLha11.MG! (Meine Tochter Lisa hat am 11. März Geburtstag!) – einfach und trotzdem komplex, oder? Wählen Sie für dieses Baukastenprinzip einfach einen Satz, den Sie sich leicht merken können. Er sollte aus mind. zwölf Buchstaben bestehen, inkl. Zahlen und Satzzeichen, sowie Wörter beinhalten, die mit Gross- als auch Kleinbuchstaben beginnen. Warum wir von den anderen Passwörtern abraten? Nun, Fg67 besteht lediglich aus vier auf der Tastatur aufeinanderfolgende Eingaben. ,.:-_#+~<>!§$%&(){}=?@ besteht zum einen rein aus Sonderzeichen, zum anderen können sich wohl die meisten von uns (ohne Passwortmanager) nicht daran erinnern. Aber zugegeben: Sicher wäre es definitiv! Und Hans1960 ist wohl selbsterklärend…

4

Sie entscheiden sich, zwischen zwei Kundenterminen in einem Café Ihre E-Mails zu bearbeiten. Dort loggen Sie sich in ein kostenloses WiFi ein. Während Sie Google Mail aufrufen wollen (mail.google.com), werden Sie auf die Seite googlemail.account.net umgeleitet. Was tun Sie?

Nichts – eine Weiterleitung ist harmlos, solange die Seite vertrauenswürdig aussieht.

Im Privatmodus surfen.

Beim nächsten Mal im Büro den Help Desk / IT Support bitten, den Computer vorsichtshalber zu prüfen.

Sofort aus dem WiFi ausloggen.

Die Weiterleitung könnte auf Spoofing hindeuten – eine Methode, um den Netzverkehr zu belauschen und zu manipulieren. Das bedeutet, dass möglicherweise Ihr E-Mail-Verkehr weitergeleitet wird und Ihre Eingabe in die vermeintliche Login-Maske mitgelesen wird. Trennen Sie daher umgehend die WiFi-Verbindung! Den Help Desk / IT Support zu benachrichtigen und diesen zu bitten, einen Blick auf Ihren Laptop zu werfen, ist aber ebenso empfehlenswert.

Ein wichtiger Grundsatz am Rande: Loggen Sie sich in kein öffentliches, kostenloses WiFi ein – schon gar nicht mit Ihrem Geschäfts-Laptop, -Tablet oder -Smartphone.

5

Der erste Schritt in eine angemessene Security Awareness ist die Fähigkeit, ein mögliches Sicherheitsrisiko…

zu meistern.

zu erkennen.

zu vermeiden.

Bei der Arbeit sind wir tagtäglich Sicherheitsrisiken ausgesetzt – sei es beim Öffnen von E-Mails (vor allem mit Anhängen), bei Telefonaten, beim Surfen auf Websites usw. Es ist unmöglich, Risiken gänzlich zu vermeiden, ganz zu schweigen von meistern. Hingegen ist es unerlässlich, dass Sie auf Risiken hin sensibilisiert sind – Stichwort Security Awareness. Seien Sie wachsam und erkennen Sie Risiken, bevor sich diese zu einem echten Angriff entwickeln.

6

Wer ist verantwortlich für die Informationssicherheit im Unternehmen?

Die IT-Abteilung

Der/die Sicherheitsverantwortliche (CISO)

Der/die CEO

Alle Mitarbeitenden

Merken Sie sich eines: ALLE Mitarbeitenden sind verantwortlich für die Informationssicherheit. Cyberkriminelle wissen nämlich ganz genau, dass viele Mitarbeitende ein leichtes Ziel sind. Kein Wunder, wenn diese nie auf die Gefahren aufmerksam gemacht und geschult wurden. Daher ist es umso wichtiger, dass alle über IT-Sicherheit und den sicheren Umgang mit Informationen Bescheid wissen (Stichwort «Security Awareness»). Und: Cyber Security gehört auch im Management nach ganz oben auf die Agenda!

7

Sie bekommen von einem unbekannten Absender eine E-Mail mit dem Hinweis, dass alle Informationen im angehängten Word zu finden sind. Was tun Sie?

Die E-Mail an den Help Desk / IT Support senden.

Den Anhang vor dem Öffnen abspeichern.

Die E-Mail an den privaten E-Mail-Account weiterleiten und zuhause öffnen.

Öffnen Sie niemals einen E-Mail-Anhang, wenn Sie nicht 100 prozentig wissen, dass dieser harmlos ist. Kennen Sie den Absender? Erwarten Sie einen Anhang? Hat die E-Mail und der Name der Datei etwas mit Ihrer Tätigkeit, dem Unternehmen oder einem Projekt zu tun? Sollten Sie unsicher sein, öffnen Sie den Anhang auf keinen Fall, sondern leiten ihn an den internen Help Desk / IT Support weiter.

8

Was ist Spear Phishing?

Eine massive Spam-Mail-Attacke an alle Mitarbeitenden.

Eine Phishing-Attacke, die von einer Mitarbeiterin oder einem Mitarbeiter ausgeht.

Eine sehr gezielte, gut geplante Cyberattacke.

Eine Phishing-Attacke via Smartphone-App.

Sowie der Speer zum Fangen eines einzelnen Fisches verwendet wird, zielt bei dieser Attacke der Angreifer sehr gezielt auf eine bestimmte Person oder auf ein bestimmtes Objekt. Spear Phishing-Attacken sind deshalb so heimtückisch, weil sie oft lange und sorgfältig geplant wurden. Das macht es umso schwieriger, sie zu entlarven. Mehr zu Spear Phishing finden Sie hier.

icon-pillar-page-thumb2

X VON X RICHTIG - UNGENÜGEND

Von Security Awareness haben Sie bisher nichts oder nur wenig gehört – schon gar nicht in Ihrem Unternehmen. Korrekt? Umso wichtiger, dass Sie sich jetzt mit dem Thema auseinandersetzen, inkl. Ihren Mitarbeitenden!

Weiter unten finden Sie viele Informationen, Blogartikel und Downloads, die Ihnen weiterhelfen. Oder noch besser, Sie melden sich direkt bei uns. Mit diversen Security Awareness-Massnahmen vermitteln wir Ihnen und Ihren Mitarbeitenden das nötige Wissen. Denn wie Sie ja jetzt wissen: ALLE Mitarbeitenden sind für die Informationssicherheit zuständig.

 

icon-pillar-page-thumb3

X VON X RICHTIG - GENÜGEND

Security Awareness ist für Sie kein neuer Begriff. Möglicherweise wurde das Thema sogar schon in Ihrem Unternehmen thematisiert – aber ein kleines Wissens-Update würde sicher auch nicht schaden. Wir helfen Ihnen auf die Sprünge!

Weiter unten finden Sie viele Informationen, Blogartikel und Downloads zum Thema Security Awareness. Oder Sie melden sich direkt bei uns. Mit diversen Security Awareness-Massnahmen vermitteln wir Ihnen und Ihren Mitarbeitenden das nötige Wissen oder frischen das Gelernte wieder auf. Denn wie Sie ja jetzt wissen: ALLE Mitarbeitenden sind für die Informationssicherheit zuständig.

 

icon-pillar-page-thumb1

X VON X RICHTIG - SUPER!

Gratulation! Cyberkriminelle haben bei Ihnen kein leichtes Spiel. Vermutlich hatten Sie bereits ein Security Awareness-Training – oder aber, Sie haben all unsere Blogartikel gelesen.

Cyberkriminelle lassen sich jedoch immer neue Tricks einfallen. Ruhen Sie sich deshalb nicht auf den Lorbeeren aus und schärfen Sie weiterhin Ihr Sicherheitsbewusstsein. Der einfachste Weg? Abonnieren Sie unsere Blog-Updates! So erhalten Sie auch in Zukunft immer die neusten Artikel, Whitepapers, Infografiken usw. rund um Cyber Security, Cyber Defence und natürlich Security Awareness. 

Blog-Updates abonnieren

WAS IST SECURITY AWARENESS?

Das Ziel von Security Awareness-Massnahmen ist es, das Bewusstsein der Mitarbeitenden für (Informations-)Sicherheit zu steigern. So sollen Gefahren, die durch fahrlässiges Verhalten oder Unwissen entstehen, reduziert und die Cyber Security erhöht werden. Aber weshalb ist Security Awareness für Unternehmen so wichtig?

Wussten Sie, dass heutzutage mehr als 99 (!) Prozent aller Cyberangriffe auf eine menschliche Interaktion zurückzuführen sind? Neben der Technik stellt der Mensch das grösste Sicherheitsrisiko dar, weshalb oft auch von der «Schwachstelle Mensch» gesprochen wird. Denn eine gute Cyber Security-Strategie und neuste Technologien reichen für effektiven Schutz leider längst nicht mehr aus. So sehen bspw. Phishing-Mails heutzutage täuschend echt aus und sind kaum von «echten» E-Mails zu unterscheiden. Ein falscher Klick, und schon ist der Hacker im Unternehmensnetzwerk – mit oftmals fatalen Folgen. Solche Gefahren lauern überall im Alltag, auch physisch, weshalb das Thema Security Awareness ein wichtiges Element in der Cyber Security-Strategie darstellt. 

MÖGLICHE ANGRIFFSFORMEN

Hacker entwickeln laufend neue Angriffsmethoden. Folgend haben wir Ihnen einige der beliebtesten aufgelistet, die im Zusammenhang mit Social Engineering und Security Awareness stehen:

Social Engineering

Beim Social Engineering wird die Gutgläubigkeit, Hilfsbereitschaft oder Unsicherheit von Personen missbraucht, um bspw. an sensible Informationen oder Daten zu gelangen. Eine Möglichkeit wäre, dass sich ein Angreifer als Mitarbeiter des IT Supports ausgibt und dadurch Zugang zum Computer eines tatsächlich angestellten Mitarbeitenden erhält. Als Folge könnten aber nicht nur Informationen entwendet, sondern auch Malware wie Trojaner ins Unternehmensnetzwerk eingeschleust werden. Mehr Informationen zu Social Engineering finden Sie in unserem Blogartikel.

Haben Sie schon unsere Social Engineering Checkliste heruntergeladen? Unsere 15 Tipps helfen Ihnen, sich vor Social Engineering zu schützen. Jetzt downloaden!

Social Engineering Checkliste

Phishing

Phishing ist eine der beliebtesten und leider auch erfolgreichsten Angriffsmethoden. Dabei werden E-Mails gefälscht oder von seriösen Absendern nachgeahmt, sodass sie weder von Spam-Filtern noch von Personen als «Fake» erkannt werden. Die Ziele sind unterschiedlich: Der Klick auf einen Link, wodurch Malware auf dem Computer installiert wird, eine Handlung wie z.B. Zahlungsaufforderung, die Weitergabe von vertraulichen Informationen via E-Mail usw. Inzwischen gibt es eine Vielzahl von Phishing-Formen wie Spear Phishing, Smishing (SMS), Vishing (Voice Phishing), Whaling, Pharming, Social Media Phishing und viele mehr...

Übrigens: Die wichtigsten Tricks, um Phishing-Mails zu erkennen, haben unsere Cyber Security-Experten in einem kostenlosen Poster für Sie zusammengestellt. Jetzt downloaden!

Phishing-Poster

SECURITY AWARENESS IN 3 SCHRITTEN

Informationssicherheit beinhaltet weit mehr als nur technische Komponenten – es beginnt beim Menschen. Denn mangelnde Sensibilität und fehlendes Wissen sind oftmals das Eingangstor für Cyberkriminelle. Aber wie lässt sich das Bewusstsein nachhaltig steigern? Ein erprobtes Mittel zur Mitarbeitersensibilisierung ist eine gezielte Security Awareness-Kampagne. Wir sagen Ihnen, wie Sie damit in nur 3 Schritten Ihre Security Awareness stärken können!

SCHRITT 1 – SEHEN

Als Erstes gilt es, die Aufmerksamkeit der Mitarbeitenden zu gewinnen und aufzuzeigen, wo die Risiken im Alltag liegen. Sie sollen erkennen, wie wichtig ihr persönlicher Beitrag ist. Bewährte Massnahmen, um den Mitarbeitenden die «Augen» zu öffnen, sind:

  • Live Hacking-Demonstrationen (mehr Infos unten)
  • Videos
  • Blogbeiträge, Intranet, Newsletter
  • Management Kommuniqué mit Give-Away (z.B. SyncStop USB Sticks)

SCHRITT 2 – VERSTEHEN

In Schritt zwei soll Wissen vermittelt werden, um das nötige Verständnis für Informationssicherheit entwickeln zu können. Die Mitarbeitenden sollen Sicherheitsrisiken erkennen und wissen, wie sie sich verhalten müssen. Dies ist der wichtigste und zugleich schwierigste Schritt in der Security Awareness. Mögliche Massnahmen hierzu sind:

SCHRITT 3 – HANDELN

Der letzte Schritt soll eine nachhaltige, dauerhafte Veränderung der Einstellung und des Verhaltens bewirken. Massnahmen müssen das Thema daher fest im Bewusstsein der Mitarbeitenden verkankern und immer wieder aufs Neue in Erinnerung rufen. Dafür geeignet sind unter anderem:

GEZIELTE AWARENESS FÜR IHRE MITARBEITENDEN

Effektive Informationssicherheit steht und fällt mit der aktiven Unterstützung der Mitarbeitenden – und zwar inkl. Management! Mit einer Security Awareness-Kampagne können sowohl Grundwissen vermittelt als auch die Sensibilität der Mitarbeitenden erhöht werden. Interessiert? Wir helfen Ihnen, eine gezielte Security Awareness-Kampagne aufzubauen!

Security Awareness-Kampagne

SECURITY AWARENESS-MASSNAHMEN

Basierend auf den spezifischen Kundenbedürfnissen, konzipiert InfoGuard individuelle Sensibilisierungs-Kampagnen. Ein «roter Faden» sowie ein Kampagnen-Branding – abgestimmt auf das Corporate Branding – gewährleisten nicht nur einen hohen Wiedererkennungswert, sondern auch eine grosse interne Akzeptanz. 

Phishing ist dabei ein zentrales Themen, das sich durch die gesamte Kampagne zieht: vom Überprüfen der bisherigen Security Awareness mittels Cyber Attack Simulation oder Social Engineering Audit (Security Testing), Schulungen und/oder Live-Hackings vor Ort und begleitender Awareness-Kommunikation bis hin zur erneuten Überprüfung resp. Erfolgsmessung. 

InfoGuard realisiert sämtliche Massnahmen und bietet auch bei der Umsetzung vor Ort vollumfängliche Unterstützung an. 

Awareness-Kommunikation

Kommunikation ist das A und O – auch in der Security Awareness. Durch eine nachhaltige Awareness-Kommunikation werden die Botschaften verständlich vermittelt, bleiben länger im Gedächtnis und sind im Unternehmen präsenter. 

Wir unterstützen Sie in der Security Awareness-Kommunikation mit Plakaten, Broschüren, Management Kommuniqués, Textvorlagen fürs Intranet, Artikel in Ihrer Mitarbeiterzeitung, Wikis, Newsletter usw. 

Workshops & Schulungen

In einem auf Ihre Bedürfnisse abgestimmten Workshop vermitteln unsere Cyber Security-Experten anschaulich, welche Cybergefahren im Alltag lauern. Dazu geben Sie wichtige Tipps und Informationen, um kritische Situationen erkennen und entsprechend handeln zu können. Ihre Mitarbeitenden werden dabei spielerisch miteinbezogen.

E-Learning & Interaktives Virtual Reality Training

E-Learning und VR Training sind ideale Methoden, um die Mitarbeitenden zeit- und ortsabhängig auf Informationssicherheit zu sensibilisieren. Der grosse Vorteil: Das interaktive, spielerische Lernen macht nicht nur Spass, sondern generiert einen besonders nachhaltigen und mit Quizes überprüfbaren Lerneffekt.

Gemeinsam mit unserem Partner E-SEC entwickeln wir innovative 3D-Trainingssoftwares nach Mass. Den Möglichkeiten sind dabei kaum Grenzen gesetzt dank Themenwelten wie Social Media, Datenschutz & Compliance, Informationssicherheit ausserhalb des Unternehmens, Bankgeheimnisse, Brandschutz usw. 

Mehr Informationen zu unseren E-Learnings und Virtual Reality Trainings finden Sie auf unserer E-SEC Partnerseite.

Live Hacking-Demonstration

Staunen ist der erste Schritt zur Erkenntnis – und somit auch zu nachhaltiger Security Awareness. Die vermutlich eindrücklichste Methode, um Cyber Security verständlich zu machen, ist daher eine Live Hacking-Demonstration unserer Security Awareness-Experten und Penetration Tester. Dabei wird Ihren Mitarbeitenden aufgezeigt, welche fatalen Folgen bereits kleine Fehler haben können – insbesondere aus Sicht eines Hackers. 

Die möglichen Themenspektren sind sehr breit und können individuell auf Ihre Bedürfnisse abgestimmt werden. Mögliche Szenarien für eine Live Hacking-Demonstration sind: Trojaner, Man-in-the-Middle-Attacken, infizierte Dokumente, Phishing & Pharming, QR Code, GPS-Ortung, Smartphone Apps & -Trojaner, Cross-Site-Scripting uvm. Die Live Hacking-Demonstrationen können in der Regel problemlos in Ihrem Unternehmen durchgeführt werden.

WHITEPAPERS, CHECKLISTEN & POSTER

SECURITY AWARENESS MIT INFOGUARD

Wieso Sie mit InfoGuard arbeiten sollten? Unsere Expertise und Erfahrung, der 360° Security-Ansatz sowie die Meinung unserer Kunden bestätigen, dass wir der richtige Partner für Security Awareness sind.

Expertise & Erfahrung

Wir verfügen über mehrere Cyber Security-Spezialisten, die auf Security Awareness spezialisiert sind. Dank ihrer langjährigen Erfahrung profitieren unsere Kunden nicht nur von umfangreichem Know-how, sondern sie wissen auch genau, wie Cyberkriminelle agieren.

Egal ob im Bereich Consulting (Awareness-Kommunikation, Workshops, E-Learnings, Live Hackings usw.), Cyber Attack Simulations, Social Engineering Audits usw. – bei uns finden Sie genau die Spezialisten, die Ihnen am besten helfen können.

Mehr als nur zufriedene Kunden

Über die letzten Jahre durften wir unzählige Kunden im Bereich Security Awareness unterstützen – und das aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen und Firmengrössen.

Wenn Sie wissen wollen, wie eine Security Awareness-Kampagne in der Praxis aussehen kann, dann lesen Sie unseren Referenzbericht von der Emmi Schweiz AG:

Referenzbericht Emmi

Alles aus einer Hand

InfoGuard deckt 360° der Cyber Security und Cyber Defence ab. Für Sie bedeutet das zum einen, dass unsere Experten wissen, wovon sie sprechen und alle Cyber Security-Komponenten miteinbeziehen. Zum anderen bieten wir Ihnen verschiedenste zusätzliche Services an, die in Kombination mit eine Security Awareness-Kampagne für effektive Cyber Security sorgen.

Sie sehen: Security Awareness ist wichtig! Worauf warten Sie? Schützen Sie Ihr Unternehmen vor Ransomware, Phishing-Angriffen, Social Engineering usw., indem Sie Ihre Mitarbeitenden schulen. Kontaktieren Sie uns – wir stellen gemeinsam mit Ihnen eine individuelle, wirkungsvolle Security Awareness-Kampagne zusammen.

Kontakt